Provincial Directory: The Scottish Episcopal Church


Map and Statistics



The roots of Scottish Christianity go back to St. Ninian in the fourth century and St Columba in the sixth. After the Reformation, the Episcopal Church was the established Church of Scotland. It was disestablished and replaced by the Presbyterian Church in 1689. Penal statutes in force from 1746 to 1792 further weakened the Church, yet Bishops maintained continuity. In 1794 in Aberdeen, the Scottish Church consecrated the first Bishop of the American Church. There was rapid growth in the nineteenth century influenced by the Tractarian Movement.


Primate:The Most Revd David Chillingworth

Provincial Secretary: Mr John Stuart

Provincial Treasurer: Mr Malcolm Bett

Website:The Scottish Episcopal Church


Aberdeen & Orkney
Argyll & The Isles
Glasgow & Galloway
Moray, Ross & Caithness
St Andrews Dunkeld & Dunblane

More information & links within The Scottish Episcopal Church:

Mission Organisations
Religious Communites